Swatches + Review: Fantasy in Flight Nail Polish – Spriteful

I picked up a few items from the Fantasy in Flight collection last month and I’ve already used both nail polishes I got.  There were four in this collection, there was also a blue (for the Blue Fairy) and a red, but I opted out of those.  I haven’t played with the palette as much as I should–I’ve been using minimal makeup recently–though I have already used it a couple times.  Will test it out some more before I put up a review type thing.

Fantasy in Flight

Anyway, today I’m talking about one of the polishes that I picked up.  I know they just released the Pop of Minnie collection, but I haven’t been down to Disney to check it out yet.  I’ve seen some press release pictures but I’m not too keen on any particular item so I’ll have to see it in person.

Retails: $11.95

Retails: $11.95

Spriteful was one that I definitely had in mind to pick up.  This polish actually surprised me, I didn’t see any swatches of it before I bought it but knew that I wanted this.  It has some holographic glitters in the polish and the base is a very pale gold, sandy color.  Nothing like I have in my collection, and I was pleasantly surprised when I put it on that it is actually a linear holo polish which I wasn’t expecting at all.

Spriteful Swatch

Hopefully you can tell in this photo, it was very difficult to capture the dimension with my camera. But it is a beautiful color and looks really amazing on the nails.  I will say the wear time on this particular polish isn’t that great.  I experienced chipping about the 3rd day of wearing it, and it pretty much didn’t last for long after.  I didn’t use a top coat because I like to test the formula of the polish itself so I can’t say how long it would last then.  It takes about 3-4 coats for full opacity and the application is quite smooth.  I didn’t experience any difficulties upon application.

Another thing to note is that I paid $11.95 for this polish when the other Beautifully polishes I’ve bought were $8.95.  I don’t know why there is a price hike, but all polishes from the Fantasy in Flight collection are $11.95.  I can’t really justify the price increase (a whole $3!) even though it’s an awesome color, because the quality of the polish hasn’t improved or changed.  If anyone knows why they increased it, please let me know!  I guess I have mixed feelings about this since I paid more for it but the wear time of Spriteful lasts about 4 days before major chipping occurs, though it is a beautiful color and nothing like in my collection.  I mean, I wouldn’t have cared so much except for the fact that the polish is close to $13 which to me is a little outrageous for ANY polish, and if I’m paying that much money it better knock my socks off, which unfortunately for Spriteful was lacking in wear time.  I like the color, but I was expecting more from it.

Until our next adventure,

M.

2 responses to “Swatches + Review: Fantasy in Flight Nail Polish – Spriteful

  1. Pingback: Swatches + Review: Fantasy in Flight Nail Polish – Something Sassy | thevaultJM·

Leave a comment