“Travel” Makeup #1 – Products I Used During The Move

I don’t necessarily think this qualifies as travel makeup, but these are the items that I kept out to use when I packed up the rest of my makeup.  They aren’t really holy grails by any means, but they’ve come in SO handy during this move and I’ve pretty much used these products for about three weeks straight.

My mantra during the move was to keep things as minimal as possible.  I mean I like highlighting as much as the next girl, but I didn’t need to keep out a separate product just for that.  I wanted to keep things that I could use my fingers to apply or use as little brushes as possible, and items that would work as a multi-tasker.

 

Moving Makeup

These are the products that have survived the test, and it’s weird because you would think that I would have kept “holy grail” items but really these products have a convenience factor to them that came in handy during the move.

We’ll start with the foundations in the back.  I mainly used Revlon PhotoReady Foundation in 008 Golden Beige and if my skin looked pretty good I would use Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation in 53 Light Beige.  I don’t love Revlon PhotoReady Foundation by any means, there are small glitters packed into the foundation itself but I have 3 of them and I’m trying to use it up.  It’s a pretty good match for my skin tone and provides just enough coverage where I don’t really need to use concealer.  I actually didn’t keep any concealer out, thinking I could just even out any blemishes with Revlon PhotoReady.  If my skin was looking pretty good, I would use Bourjois Healthy Mix but J used Bourjois more often that I did.  I typically use Missha BB Cream on a daily basis, but I mix two colors together and rather than keep 4 foundations out, I packed away the BB Cream to make myself use up the Revlon PhotoReady.

To set everything, I used bareMinerals Original Foundation in Golden Medium.  It’s a very light coverage foundation and I use a little bit to set my foundation and around my T-zone.  I’ve come to really like it and we’re trying to use it up so we can get the Matte formulation.  It locks in my foundation and makes it last longer.  I feel like I don’t get breakthrough shine as quickly when I set my foundation with this.

On a daily basis, I use the dark brown color from the Maybelline Stylish Smokes quad in Natural Smokes to fill in my eyebrows.  It’s the perfect matte dark brown and it looks really natural.  I also used it as eyeliner because I packed away all my pencil/liquid liners.  I also really like the matte highlight in this quad as my highlight for my brow bone.  It’s a little faint, but it highlights without attracting too much attention there.

For eyeshadow, I busted out my e.l.f quad in Butternut.  For whatever reason, I thought because of the small size it would be easier to pack than some bigger palettes, but am I glad I did.  I’ve rediscovered how much I love this little eyeshadow.  I’m so in love with it, I want to buy another one so I can keep one in my makeup bag and one at home.  It’s so easy to use and the pigmentation is awesome.  This eyeshadow seriously NEVER creases on me and I’m amazed every time I use it. I simply used my fingers to apply the shadows and they go on so smoothly and beautifully.

I melted down Wet n Wild MegaLast lipstick in Just Peachy a while ago and made my own cream blush.  As much as I wanted to love that color, it just didn’t work on me so I melted two sticks down and added some moisturizer cream to make a blush so that I didn’t have to throw it away.  It’s come in so handy during the move since I basically only had an eyebrow brush and the bareMinerals face brush.  I just used my fingers to apply the cream blush and called it a day.  Another blush J kept was the NYX blush in Mocha which layers really nicely on top of the cream blush.

To keep things simple, I just used Maybelline Baby Lips in Melon Mania to provide some moisturization and a hint of color.

That’s pretty much it! All the makeup I used for the last 3-4 weeks.  I’ve re-arranged my makeup so I’m using other products more now that we’ve settled in a bit, but I’m still these products even now.

Until our next adventure,

M.

 

4 responses to ““Travel” Makeup #1 – Products I Used During The Move

  1. That’s so surprising how well the elf quad works for you. I keep getting those sent with my online orders and I have them sitting in the back of a drawer. I’ll have to give them another try 😀

    • I never really paid much attention to them, and I picked them up a long time go because everyone says good things about them. Butternut is pretty awesome and I wore the day/night one the other day when I went out and they both always stay on! It’s really impressive! Haha hopefully yours works out just as well too. I have the purple one which I don’t like too much. Maybe I’ll have to give it another try.

  2. Haha yes, senior project has been kicking my butt, so I’ve been taking some time off the internet to focus on that .___.
    I just tried out my shadows again and I still don’t like them. It’s too bad we don’t live closer, you could totally have mine =P

Leave a Reply

