Swatches + Review: Revlon Parfumerie Nail Polish – Autumn Spice and Italian Leather

I finally got my Autumn Spice replaced during my last CVS visit.  I don’t know if I feel ambivalent about the color now that I’ve used it.  I bought it for about $5.99 at Rite Aid and at CVS I paid around $6.20 so depending on where you get it and your location the price may vary.

Revlon Autumn Spice and Italian Leather Bottle Shot

 

Retails: $5-$6

Retails: $5-$6
Photographed in sunlight, without top coat

I like the color of Autumn Spice, but I was hoping it would be a little more red and less brown. In the bottle, you can see all the pretty burgundy glitter reflects but on the nail it kind of looks a little dull.  I think that’s why I’m a little on the fence with this polish because I had hoped it would be amazing and shiny.  It might have been better with a top coat, the glitters might have shined more that way, but I like trying products just by itself without any help to make it look better.

The scent for Autumn Spice is a little bit woodsy mixed with some hint of vanilla.  I’m terrible with describing scents, but it smells pretty cozy.  It lasted for about 3 days before the scent pretty much faded.  This polish didn’t last as long as Surf Spray did.  By the fifth day there was substantial chipping and I removed it.

Revlon Autumn Spice day 5

You can see all the chipping around the index finger and thumb.  Other than the weird chipping, the tips faded a little and not too much other damage on any other nail.  It lasted quite a while but not nearly as great as Surf Spray did.  By the end of the 7th day, Surf Spray still looked relatively new.

Revlon Italian Leather

Italian Leather is a greenish grey with some golden-bronze fine shimmer.  The shimmer isn’t too apparent once you put the polish on the nail, but it helps add some dimension to the polish.  You probably can’t see from the picture.

I don’t even know how to describe the scent of Italian Leather, for one it doesn’t smell like leather at all to me.  I think it kind of smells like Barbie hair, but J disagrees with me.  She thinks it has a sweet scent and also smells a little of vanilla.  I did notice that this scent lingered a little more and whenever I ate and licked my fingers (as gross as that sounds) I would taste the scent.  It isn’t totally appetizing, but I experienced this more with Italian Leather, I didn’t really get that from Surf Spray or Autumn Spice.

I don’t have a picture of how this lasted, J took it off before I could take a picture but it also wears along the line of Autumn Spice.

Overall, I quite like these polishes but my favorite would have to be Surf Spray.

Until our next adventure,

M.

Leave a Reply

