Nails of the Week: Hard Candy – Black Tie Optional, Sinful Shine – My Kryptonite

I don’t think I’ve ever talked about Sinful Shine. I bought a few a long time ago when these first starting cropping up in Walgreens along with the Sinful Colors Diamond Lust polishes. We made a video a long time ago when we first hauled this, but never uploaded it (just kept forgetting to post it up) but I’m really impressed with this nail polish.
sinful-hardcandy-nail

This is a super opaque nail polish, almost a one coater.  I generally do at least two coats for good measure, but you can get away with just one for this polish.  I first used it as my toenail color and it lasted for a really long time without chipping.  There was only minor wear at the tips.  My Kryptonite leans more emerald green in the bottle, but when applied to the nails it looks like an deep aqua green.  It’s definitely as bright as Kryptonite but I’m loving the name regardless.  In the photo, it leans a little more blue but in person it’s more dark green than blue.  There are slight blue undertones.

I’ve already said how much I like Hard Candy Black Tie Optional, but the combination of the two colors looks really cool.  It looks like graffiti or art splatters.  The one negative thing about Black Tie Optional is that the horizontal bar glitters tend to pucker up and I end up peeling them off which leaves an imprint.  You can combat this a little by using a lot of top coat, but it’s one thing to be wary about.

Until our next adventure,

M.

3 responses to “Nails of the Week: Hard Candy – Black Tie Optional, Sinful Shine – My Kryptonite

    • I really liked the color and it has awesome staying power but it totally dyed my nails. They still look a little green/blue right now. Although my sister didn’t have the same reaction. It maybe because I used Orly Bonder as a basecoat.

Leave a Reply

