Nails of the Week: OPI – Do You Lilac, Pixi – Opal Sheen

Have you ever been stuck in a manicure rut and you just don’t know what to do?  I always mean to do some sort of nail art, but when push comes to shove, I never think of anything to do.  I’m jealous of all you nail artisans out there!  Filling a blank canvas is definitely hard.  My “go-to” is always polishing my nails one color and having an accent nail.  Sometimes when I feel really bold, I use glitter.

OPI and Pixi

I wanted to use striping tape somehow to make my nails look less boring, but all the colors I had didn’t fit with the scheme I already painted.  I normally pick a color that goes with the season or something I haven’t used in a while or at all.  I really like lilac nail polish.  I think it looks pretty for summer or any time of the year really.  After using OPI’s Do You Lilac again, I remembered how smooth OPI’s formula is.  There was no streakiness and two coats gave me full opacity.

This was my first time using Pixi Opal Sheen.  My sister brought it back with her when she moved back from Virginia and I thought the flash of purple would pair nicely with the lilac.  You may not be able to tell from the picture, but Opal Sheen definitely lives up to its name and has a duochromatic quality to it.  It is quite sheer though and I think I used 4 coats to get almost full opacity.

OPI and Pixi

What I Used

Lilac – OPI Do You Lilac

Opal – Pixi Opal Sheen

I think the next time I manicure my nails, I’ll step out of my comfort zone a little more and finally test out the striping tape, jewels, and our nail art brushes we bought! Why have all these tools and not use them right?

Until our next adventure,

M.

Leave a Reply

