Swatches + Review: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers

All products were purchased with my own money.

I’m sure everyone has seen reviews about how amazing Rimmel Apocalips are but I don’t care I want to share my two cents.  They were originally released in UK as Rimmel Apocalips and since that name is so much better and shorter than Show Off Lip Lacquers, that’s how I’m going to refer to them.  The US has a wider color selection, but I only picked up two from the US release and two that were available in the original UK collection.  Big Bang and Celestial were released in the UK collection and  Comet and Aurora were part of the US release.

rimmel apocalips

(L) to (R) Rimmel Show Off – Comet, Celestial, Aurora, Big Bang
Retail: $4.99 at Walgreens

I forgot to do swatches on the skin, but I do have lip swatches.  Sorry for the varying lighting.  I did it at the same time in the sunlight but the coloring is still a little off.  The color of the Apocalips are pretty accurate, but I’ll figure out a more consistent lighting system later.  It’s hard to do lip swatches!

Rimmel Apocalips Swatch

Aurora and Big Bang were the first two Apocalips I bought.  Apparently I thought it was a good idea to jump straight to bold lips without building my way up.  I’m really glad I picked up these two because I absolutely love them!  I really think Apocalips helped me progress into wearing bolder lips.  Something about them just makes it look so pretty without being completely “in your face”.  Aurora is a subdued hot pink which makes this color very wearable in the daytime.  I walked around Downtown Disney with this on (I tried it on after I bought it) and I didn’t feel like the lip color was screaming in anyone’s face.

Although from the picture Big Bang and Aurora look fairly similar on the lips, in person Big Bang is actually a very pretty classic red that I think anyone can wear.  I absolutely love this color.  It’s so flattering and I don’t even normally wear bright reds like this.  I have worn this out and I didn’t use a lipliner, just very carefully used the doe-foot applicator to apply it.

After loving Big Bang and Aurora I went back to Walgreens and picked up Comet and Celestial. As you can see, Comet is a brownish rosy nude color.  It’s a very natural lip color if you just want to even out the lips.  I didn’t originally like Comet all that much, I thought it was too brown, but the more I wear it the more I like it.  I think it’s quite a flattering neutral that doesn’t wash out your face.

Celestial is an absolute favorite also.  I love how pretty it looks.  It’s a medium pink that instantly brightens up your face and is a perfect color for spring and summer.  I wore it around the house for 3 hours, which includes eating and drinking, and it left behind a fairly good stain.  I was scared it would leave a ring of color around my lip, but it actually stains very evenly.

Apocalips are a little bit more of a high maintenance product.  You can’t just swipe it on and go (at least I can’t).  You need to apply it carefully so it doesn’t get everywhere.  It may transfer if it hasn’t completely dried down, but I never had problems with transferring.  If you have the patience and time to make it look nice it’s worth it.  It lasts about 3-4 hours and then you’d have to reapply, but I’m terrible with remembering to do that, so I like products that leave behind a stain.  I can just slap on some chapstick and call it a day.

Bottom Line

For $4.99, Rimmel Apocalips are a steal!  You get the shine of a gloss and the pigmentation of a lipstick all in one.  Definitely give it a try if you are interested.  They are found at Walgreens and are part of the permanent collection.

Until our next Adventure,

M.

6 responses to “Swatches + Review: Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers

  1. Celestial is my favorite color out of your swatches but they all look incredible. I prefer swatches on the lip compared to ones on the hand anyway ;). I have been meaning to check these out I just am hesitant about colors/consistency.

    • i agree, then you can at least see how it might look on you if they’re lip swatches. haha you should check them out they’re pretty inexpensive so it won’t be too bad if you aren’t crazy about them. i know what you mean about the colors though. i just picked red cause you know, go big or go home! haha

Leave a Reply

