Swatches + Review: Disney’s Ariel Collection by Sephora – Part of Your World Quad & Set the Mood Compact

All products were purchased with my own money.

I finally got to play around with the Ariel collection from Sephora.  This is probably one of the most anticipated Disney Sephora releases, I know J was ecstatic to find out that they would be releasing an Ariel collection.  I’ve seen previews of the collection from other bloggers who were able to get it first, and let me just say the pictures don’t do the packaging any justice.  It looks so much prettier and magical in person.  If I thought Jasmine had amazing packaging, the Ariel collection blew it out of the waters (pun intended).

The packaging is extremely detailed and looks amazing

The packaging is extremely detailed and looks amazing.

Part of Your World Quad by Disney's Sephora Retails: $30

Part of Your World Quad by Disney’s Sephora
Retails: $30

In person, the box actually looks more like a seafoam green than a blue but that’s beside the point.  From the preview, I was excited that this quad contained a forest green and what looked like a matte brown.  When I played with the quad, the matte transition color is actually more of a greige that is much too light for me to use as an all over lid color.  I actually feel like it’s too cool for my skintone to be used as a transition color as well.  But perhaps the most disappointing shade in this quad is the green.

Photographed in sunlight.

Photographed in sunlight. (L) to (R) Who’s It, What’s It, Dinglehopper, Snarfblat

I expected Dinglehopper to be much much more vibrant however when I went to use it all-over the lid the color barely showed up.  I had to use greens from the Ariel Storylook palette to make up for its lack of pigmentation.  The purple, Snarblat, is not terrible, but the purple from Magic Carpet Ride and from Beautifully’s L’Amour Mauve are superior.  I feel like the only real gem in this quad is the highlight shade.  It’s a very pretty icy white that brightens up my inner corners.  I’m a little disappointed in this performance of this quad, considering I LOVE Jasmine’s Magic Carpet Ride quad.  Both Who’s It and Snarblat have some shimmers in the eyeshadow, Dinglehopper is a satin finish and What’s It is a matte shadow.

Little Mermaid Compact

Set the Mood Compact
Retails: $20

Of course the compact which everyone loves is always of excellent craftsmanship.  Set the Mood does not disappoint.  It has a raised silver frame that looks like waves and in the middle the scene from Kiss the Girl.  I have nothing else to say about the compact, it’s a must-have from this collection.

Bottom Line

If you absolutely love Ariel and must have the quad in your collection, I would say to purchase it.  If anything, it’s beautiful to look at, however in sincerity I would probably just skip over it if you are trying to save money or decide between which items to pick up.  The Storylook palette is a better purchase but I’ll review it at a later date.  I need to play with the colors a little more.

The compact is always worth buying and Set the Mood is no different.

Until our next adventure,

M.

2 responses to “Swatches + Review: Disney’s Ariel Collection by Sephora – Part of Your World Quad & Set the Mood Compact

  1. Pingback: Swatches + Review: Disney’s Ariel Collection by Sephora – Storylook Palette Volume 3 | thevaultJM·

Leave a Reply

