Mickey Mouse Lemon Bars

Summery Mickey Mouse Lemon Bars

When I bake things it is usually to satisfy a craving. I have been longing for Lemon Bars for a really long time and I’m too cheap to buy them anywhere else. Where do you even buy lemon bars? Then I got the brilliant idea of turning everyday lemon bars into magical Mickey lemon bars! I used this recipe from A Bountiful Kitchen, but any lemon bar recipe will do. The only difference is instead of distributing powdered sugar all over, I cut out a Mickey stencil from paper.

Image

a buttery, flaky crust with a zesty lemon filling.

It was my first time trying my hand at lemon bars and I’m pleased with how it came out for the most part.  It had the right amount of zesty tang to them.  Next time, I think I want to make the crust a little thinner.  Also, I don’t know if this happens with all lemon bar recipes and no one mentions it, but when I poured the filling onto the crust, there was a layer of foam sitting on top.  Being careless as I am, I baked it thinking the foam would settle, but it ended up leaving a spongy topcoat that I ended up trimming off.  If I decide to make these again, I’ll be more mindful about that part.  Has this happened to anyone else?

I love anything lemon, and these lemons bars are perfect for a summer treat.  You can change up the stencils to create any Disney character silhouette.  If I can figure out how to make an Iron Man stencil, I might just do that….

Let me know if you’ve tried making these!

Until our next adventure,

M.

Leave a Reply

