Swatches + Review: Wet n Wild Limited Edition 2013 “Get Your Look” Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

Aqua palette (Ariel) and Gold palette (Belle)

All items shown were purchased with our own money.

My sister and I have, so far, been losing the battle in finding the 2013 limited edition Wet n Wild Spring Forward Collection. While on our daily weekly drug store rounds we were surprised to come across this new limited edition “Get Your Look” Eyeshadow Medley 2013 Wet n Wild Collection! The eyeshadow palettes retail for $4.99 and it also come with a free Wet n Wild Mega Liner.  This is my first time using the liner and it’s very good (but a bit hard to apply at first). If you’re a WnW fan than you should get these while you can! Apparently they started showing up in Walgreens a few days ago.

There’s no names associated with the palettes, but the aqua palette reminds me of Ariel and the gold palette reminds me of Belle. That is how we will refer to the palettes from now on.

Wet n Wild Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley (“Belle” Gold Palette)

Image

Wet n Wild Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley (“Ariel” Aqua Palette)

The medleys contain 3 shimmer overcoats, 3 pearl powders and 2 matte definer shades. We swatched the palette below, all the colors are gorgeous!

Swatches: “Ariel” Aqua Palette

Photographed indoors, flash, no primer

Image

3 Shimmer overcoats (light blue, pale yellow, and pale pink) Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

Image

3 pearl powders (matte aqua/light blue with microglitters, burnt red, neon pink/purple) Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

Image

2 matte definer shades (dark brown and navy blue). Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

Swatches: “Belle” Gold Palette

Image

Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer, no flash

Photographed indoors, flash, no primer

Photographed indoors, flash, no primer

Image

Shimmer Overcoat
Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

Image

3 pearl powders. Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

2 matte definer shades (light brown and black) Photographed indoors, sunlight, no primer

First impressions: Holy glitter bomb, Batman!  I was a little weary of the shimmer overcoats but they were a pleasant surprise.  They bring pizazz to any eye look and I like that they give you a range of glimmering colors to choose from.  You have to be careful while applying the glittery overlay though, definitely do your foundation routine last.  There will be fall out all over your face (unless you want to be a human disco ball). The quality of the palettes is the same as other WnW 8-pan palettes.  The texture of the shadows are quite smooth.  I like that Wet n Wild incorporated different finishes to this palette, from glitter to matte.  It definitely allows you to create a variety of looks.  I don’t own glitter glue, so one trick I used to help the glitter adhere was to apply a little gloss to the center of my lids and tapped it on.  In my Belle inspired look, I wanted the color to be more golden to reflect Belle’s ball gown so I used the Beautifully Enchanted Slumber lip gloss to make the glitters more vibrant.

The less pigmented color in the Ariel palette would be the neon purple/pink shadow and the matte navy blue. The less pigmented color in the Belle palette would be the pale yellow pearlized shadow. I would like to point out that these swatches were taken without primer, I’m sure with primer they would be even more pigmented.  I really like these new palettes; hopefully I’m not the only one that thinks the colors are reminiscent of Ariel and Belle!

Bottom line: Of the two, the Ariel palette would have to be my favorite although Belle is probably more practical.  If the golden yellow shadow in the Belle palette had more pigment it probably would’ve swayed my vote because the rusty burgundy shade is absolutely beautiful.  Needless to say, these palettes were a good buy and you won’t be disappointed with either!

Hope you enjoyed these swatches. We’re not make up experts but hopefully these helped you in your purchasing decision.

Until next time,

J&M

6 responses to “Swatches + Review: Wet n Wild Limited Edition 2013 “Get Your Look” Color Icon Eyeshadow Medley

  1. Pingback: Disney Princess Inspired Looks Preview | thevaultJM·

  2. Pingback: Swatches + Review: Wet n Wild Spring Forward Collection 2013 – Going in the Wild & Nude Awakening | thevaultJM·

  3. Hi, I have been looking for these two palettes for the past two days, visiting my local Walgreens, CVS, and even K-mart in which they had some of there past lipstick colors. I am really in need of getting my hands on these two palettes. I really like the colors, and I have came across some of their past collection trio collection such as Lust,
    Greed, and others from amazon starting as low as .99 to 2.49

    • Welcome Delores! Wet n wild shadows are really awesome, I am rarely disappointed in the quality. But the limited edition palettes are such a pain to find.

      These eyeshadow medley palettes are exclusive to Walgreens. I live in Southern California and I originally found these palettes at the Walgreens in Anaheim, CA.

  4. Pingback: Disney Villains Week: Scar Inspired Makeup | thevaultJM·

Leave a Reply

