Swatches + Review: Sinful Colors – Ardoise (Night Magic), Milani 3D Holographic – Cyberspace

In the spirit of May the Fourth, I wanted to do a quick Star Wars loosely ‘inspired’ nail look (though you could really wear this on any other day).  This is my default manicure when I simply want to paint my nails and add a bit of fun to it.

Star Wars

“You underestimate the power of the Dark Side. If you will not fight, then you will meet your destiny.”

This was the first manicure I did.  I was looking for colors that look like space/galaxies and I came across the Milani 3D holographic nail polish.  I absolutely LOVE Milani 3D holographic polishes, I don’t know why it wasn’t more popular when the collection came out, nevertheless, I thought it would be suitable for a space inspired look.  I used 4 coats of this polish to get it to an opacity I liked, I think next time I will use a base color.  Cyberspace did require a little more work, but I still love the application and the overall look.  It looks amazing.  I added the Hard Candy Black Tie Optional polish as my accent nail because the black and white reminded me of Darth Vader and also of stars in the sky.

I also used a Maybelline shredded nail polish, but for some reason it didn’t shred? Maybe I just used it wrong but it applied normally for me.  Someone tell me what I did incorrectly!

“The Force is strong with this one.”

Then I figured that Cyberspace was too pale of a blue, and switched to Sinful Colors Ardoise (Night Magic) for a sinister Darth Vader/Storm Troopers manicure.  The application of Ardoise was lovely.  It is a very dark grey that looks black, so it’s perfect if you want something that looks less harsh than black polish does.  I used two coats for full opacity and the formula was not streaky at all.  For a while I kept these polishes tucked away, and after I started using them again, I’m falling in love with Sinful Colors nail polish all over again.

I also really like Hard Candy Black Tie Optional.  It’s perfect to spice up any nail polish color and it’s just really fun to use.  It is exactly what I wanted in Sephora X Chaotic at a fraction of the cost (Hard Candy Retails $4 at Wal-Mart).  Every time I go into Sephora this nail polish is sold out, so if you want something similar try Hard Candy Black Tie Optional.  The black and white glitters are very similar.

polishes

What I Used

Dark Grey – Sinful Colors Ardoise (Night Magic), Maybelline Color Show (Shredded) Silver Stunner
Blue – Milani 3D Holographic Cyberspace
Accent– Hard Candy Black Tie Optional

Think I’m going to lay off the nail polish posts for a while! :)

May the Fourth be with you,

M.

8 responses to “Swatches + Review: Sinful Colors – Ardoise (Night Magic), Milani 3D Holographic – Cyberspace

  1. Wow, that blue polish is so pretty! Looks like I’ll have to pay more attention to Milani from now on.
    What’s a shredded polish supposed to do? Is it like a crackle or something?

  2. Pingback: Nails of the Week: featuring Sephora by OPI – Beam Me Up Hottie | thevaultJM·

  3. Pingback: Nails of the Week: L’Oreal – Club Prive, Milani – 3D | thevaultJM·

Leave a Reply

